#CraoFem2021

INTRODUCTION

The regional conference of West African countries to be held on December 13 and 14, 2021 is an initiative of the Network of Women Leaders for Development.

This regional conference seeks to provide a structured civic space to develop strategic collaborations, develop proposals and vital information with ambitious objectives concerning the respect of human rights in West Africa. This regional consultation, the result of the successful partnership between the Network of Women Leaders for Development (WLD) and its partners, includes political discussions between experts from the African Union, National Human Rights Institutions in East Africa West, Civil Society Organizations (CSOs), academic institutions, media and other regional and national stakeholders, as well as development partners.

DESCRIPTION

Africa's development today faces serious challenges. How to explain the numerous cases of violations and the habitual instrumentalization of human rights in African States and how to put an end to these abuses? There are many cases that constitute the paradigm of this instrumentalization and violation where human rights are transformed into hypothetical imperatives and various weapons to be mobilized in political battles.

This tendency is to discriminate against women through occupational segregation which subsequently leads to wage discrimination. During the occurrence of natural disasters like climate change and other phenomena like the Covid-19 pandemic crisis, women are the first victims to be negatively affected, as they are caricatured as having a low level of resilience. Opportunity costs related to lack of access to clean water, for example, fall disproportionately on young girls and women. We can then deduce that human rights are not fully respected in African states due to the ineffectiveness of judicial sanctions.

Natural disasters, conflict, the effects of climate change and other factors related to the Covid-19 pandemic have left large numbers of civilians in need of humanitarian assistance. These people often find themselves in protracted situations where the solutions have become illusory.

Thus, to take concrete measures for more results, women human rights defenders will put in place coherent actions to fight for the respect of human rights. The most important weapon to restore to the African peoples and to combine in the past all the discrimination suffered by women therefore appears to be solidarity.

OBJECTIFS

Main objective : Consolidate the alliances of women human rights defenders for a better development of their socio-cultural and economic rights


Specific objective: Identify strategic collaborations and actions to strengthen the contribution of Women Human Rights Defenders to durable solutions 

EXPECTED RESULTS

At the end of this conference and in view of certain relevant observations, the participants expect that:

  • Full proceedings of the Regional Conference
  • Action plan on the role of Women Human Rights Defenders in the search for durable solutions for the violation of human rights.

Also, from this action plan, the participants will make national pleas that:  

  • Governments put in place mechanisms that are credible, transparent, accountable and accessible to grassroots women.
  • To do this, national human rights institutions must review the laws and practices in force and recommend appropriate reforms. This will put an end to the existing obstacles and guarantee communities the security of their rights as individuals.
  • Carry out independent audits of human rights violations and breaches of national policies for the protection of people in the event of natural disasters.
  • To ensure their accountability with regard to respect for human rights, governments must adopt voluntary standards and ensure that their complaints mechanisms are open and accessible to communities without any discrimination.
  • As guarantors of respect for human rights, the governments of the peoples of West Africa must also adopt international standards of good practice in line with international laws for the protection of human rights, and monitoring that institutions comply with them.

STAKEHOLDERS / PARTICIPANTS

  • ECOWAS/ECOWAS Experts
  • Special Rapporteurs of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (ACHPR)
  • Experts from the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACERWC)
  • African National Human Rights Institutions
  • Relevant state actors
  • Development Partners
  • Civil society organizations
  • Media

The deadline for registering for the panel is November 20.

If you are interested in participating, please send us your concept note before the deadline to admin@rflgd.org.

The Network of Women Leaders for Development (WLDN) invites national, regional, and international partners to write to us at the RFLD Secretariat on ADMIN@RFLGD.ORG to be a Partner on this regional meeting.

#CraoFem2021

INTRODUCTION

La conférence régionale des pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest qui se tiendra les 13 et 14 décembre 2021 est une initiative du Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement.

Cette conférence régionale cherche à fournir un espace civique structuré pour développer des collaborations stratégiques, élaborer des propositions et des informations vitales avec des objectifs ambitieux concernant le respect des droits de l’homme en Afrique de l’Ouest. Cette concertation régionale, fruit du partenariat réussi entre le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement (RFLD) et ses partenaires comprend des discussions politiques entre des experts de l’Union africaine , les Institutions Nationale des Droits de l’Homme en Afrique de l’Ouest, les Organisations de la société civile ( OSC), les institutions académiques, les médias et d’autres parties prenantes régionales et nationales, ainsi que des partenaires de développement.

DESCRIPTION

Le développement de l’Afrique est aujourd’hui confronté à de sérieux défis. Comment expliquer les nombreux cas de violations et l’instrumentalisation habituelle des droits humains dans les Etats africains et comment mettre un terme à ces abus ? Nombreux sont les cas qui constituent le paradigme de cette instrumentalisation et violation où les droits humains se transforment en impératifs hypothétiques et en armes diverses à mobiliser dans les batailles politiques.

Cette tendance est de discriminer les femmes par la ségrégation professionnelle qui conduit par la suite à une discrimination salariale. Lors de la survenance de catastrophes naturelles comme le changement climatique et d’autres phénomènes comme la crise pandémique de Covid-19, les femmes sont les premières victimes à être affectées négativement, car elles sont caricaturées comme ayant un faible niveau de résilience. Les coûts d’opportunité liés au manque d’accès à l’eau potable, par exemple, pèsent de manière disproportionnée sur les jeunes filles et les femmes. On peut alors en déduire que les droits humains ne sont pas pleinement respectés dans les Etats africains du fait de l’inefficacité des sanctions judiciaires.

Les catastrophes naturelles, les conflits, les effets du changement climatique et d’autres facteurs liés à la pandémie de Covid-19 ont laissé un grand nombre de civils dans le besoin d’une aide humanitaire. Ces personnes se retrouvent souvent dans des situations prolongées où les solutions sont devenues illusoires.

Ainsi, pour prendre des mesures concrètes pour plus de résultats, les femmes défenseures des droits humains mettront en place des actions cohérentes pour lutter pour le respect des droits humains. L’arme la plus importante pour restituer aux peuples africains et conjuguer dans le passé toutes les discriminations subies par les femmes apparaît donc comme la solidarité.

OBJECTIFS

Objectif général : Consolider les alliances des femmes défenseures des droits de l’homme pour un meilleur épanouissement de leurs droits socio-culturels et économiques


Objectif spécifique: Identifier les collaborations stratégiques et les actions visant à renforcer la contribution des Femmes Défenseures des Droits de l’Homme aux solutions durables 

RESULTATS ATTENDUS

À l’issue de cette conférence et au vue de certaines observations pertinentes, les participants s’attendent à ce que :

  • Déroulement complet de la Conférence Régionale
  • Plan d’action sur le rôle des Femmes  Défenseures des Droits de l’Homme dans la recherche de solutions durables pour la violation des droits humains.

Aussi, de ce plan d’action, les participants feront des plaidoyers nationaux à ce que :  

  • Les gouvernements mettent en place des mécanismes crédibles, transparentes, redevables et accessibles aux femmes à la base.
  • Pour cela, les institutions nationales des droits de l’homme se doivent de revoir les lois et pratiques en vigueur et recommander les réformes appropriées. Ceci permettra de mettre fin aux obstacles existant et garantir aux communautés la sécurité de leurs droits en tant qu’individus
  • Réaliser des audits indépendants des violations des droits de l’homme et des enfreintes aux politiques nationales de protection des hommes en cas de catastrophes naturelles.
  • Pour assurer leur responsabilisation en ce qui concerne le respect des droits de l’homme, les gouvernants se doivent d’adopter des normes volontaires et s’assurer que leurs mécanismes de plaintes sont ouverts et accessibles aux communautés sans discrimination aucune.
  • En tant que garants du respect des droits de l’homme, les gouvernements des peuples de l’Afrique de l’Ouest doivent aussi adopter des standards de bonnes pratiques internationaux en phase avec les lois internationales pour la protection des droits de l’homme, et contrôler que les institutions s’y conforment.

PARTIES PRENANTES / PARTICIPANTS

  • Experts de la CEDEAO / ECOWAS
  • Rapporteurs Spéciaux de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (CADHP)
  • Experts du Comité africain d’experts sur les droits et le bien-être de l’enfant (ACERWC)
  • Institutions nationales africaines des droits de l’homme
  • Acteurs étatiques pertinents
  • Partenaires au développement
  • Organisations de la société civile
  • Media

La date limite d’inscription au panel est le 20 novembre.

Si vous souhaitez participer, veuillez nous envoyer votre note conceptuelle avant la date limite à admin@rflgd.org.

Le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement (RFLD) invite les partenaires nationaux, régionaux, et internationaux à nous écrire au Secrétariat du RFLD sur ADMIN@RFLGD.ORG pour être Partenaire sur cette rencontre régionale.