HARMFUL PRACTICES

Female genital mutilation is commonly practiced in certain regions, particularly the northern regions. This within several ethnic groups, religions and all socio-professional backgrounds. Female Genital Mutilation is a gross and manifest violation of human rights. The consequences are violent and numerous: abundant bleeding, incredible suffering, state of violent shock, risk of incontinence and death. In the long term, the consequences are also catastrophic: menstrual and vaginal problems, increased risks of serious birth complications and psychological distress.

An exception at the time, since within certain communities, as is the case in several African countries, this crime against the integrity of the human person is perceived as a social norm, so that those who opposing them risked a lot: Pressures, stigmatizations, threats, criticisms and exclusions.

If the practice tends to decrease at the international level, a survey carried out by the Network of Women Leaders for Development, reveals a continuity of the rate of prevalence of Female Genital Mutilations in the countries of West Africa.

For an effective fight and a long-term impact, the Network of Women Leaders for Development (RFLD) has adopted the techniques of inclusive and participatory community approaches that promote national and international dialogue, listening, intergenerational dialogue and alternative initiation rites without female genital mutilation.

Thus committing itself to the category of great women's rights activists in West Africa, the Network of Women Leaders for Development sensitized the populations very early on, which sensitization was supported by ACHDRS and CIDH AFRICA.

To fight against female genital mutilation, the Network of Women Leaders for Development believes that the support of religious leaders, the education of men and women, the active participation of traditional practitioners and the practice of mock excisions will save young girls and women while gently evacuating this practice.

For the Network of Women Leaders for Development, the fight against female genital mutilation also involves the mobilization of men and women for the development of alternative solutions.

The RFLD works closely with community leaders, civil society leaders, children and young people to raise awareness, transform their behavior in order to end this practice. He also works with the authorities by making pleas to draw their attention to the horrors of this phenomenon.

  • Advocacy at local and national level
  • Education and awareness
  • Initiation of workshops dedicated to "girls' and women's rights" to help.

For the RFLD, it is important that the promotion of the abandonment of FGM be the subject of concerted action and exercised at different levels from the local to the national level and then globally. And for this, actions must be adapted to cultural sensitivities and local contexts.

PRATIQUES NÉFASTES

Les mutilations génitales féminines sont communément pratiquées dans certaines régions notamment les régions septentrionales. Ceci au sein de plusieurs ethnies, de religions et de tous les milieux socioprofessionnels. Les Mutilations Génitales Féminines constituent une grave violation manifeste des droits des humains. Les conséquences sont violentes et nombreuses : saignements abondant, souffrances inouïes, état de choc violent, risque d’incontinence et mort. A long terme, les conséquences sont également catastrophiques : problèmes menstruels, vaginaux, augmentations des risques de complication sérieuse à la naissance et détresse psychologique.

Une exception à l’époque, puisque au sein de certaines communautés comme c’est le cas dans plusieurs pays africains, ce crime contre l’intégrité de la personne humaine est perçue comme une norme sociale, de sorte que celles et ceux qui s’y opposent risquaient gros : Pressions, stigmatisations, menaces, critiques et exclusions.

Si la pratique tend à diminuer au niveau international, une enquête menée par le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement, révèle une continuité du taux de prévalence des Mutilations Génitales Féminines dans les pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest.

Pour une lutte efficace et un impact à long terme, le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement (RFLD) a adopté les techniques d’approches communautaires inclusives et participatives qui favorisent le dialogue national, international, l’écoute, le dialogue intergénérationnel et les rites alternatifs d’initiation sans mutilation génitale féminine.

S’engageant  ainsi dans la catégorie des grands activistes des droits des femmes en Afrique de l’Ouest, le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement sensibilise très tôt les populations, laquelle sensibilisation a été en  soutenue par ACHDRS et CIDH AFRICA.

Pour lutter contre les mutilations génitales féminines, le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement pense que le soutien des responsables religieux, l’éducation des hommes et des femmes, la participation active des pratiquants traditionnelles et la pratique de simulacres d’excisions permettront de sauver les jeunes filles et les femmes tout en évacuant en douceur cette pratique.

Pour le Réseau des Femmes Leaders pour le Développement, la lutte contre les mutilations génitales féminines passent également par la mobilisation des hommes et des femmes pour le développement de solutions alternatives.

Le RFLD travaille en étroite collaboration avec les leaders communautaires, les responsables de la société civile, les enfants et les jeunes pour sensibiliser, transformer leur comportement dans le but de mettre fin à cette pratique. Il travaille aussi avec les autorités en faisant des plaidoyers pour attirer leurs attentions sur les affres de ce phénomène.

  • Plaidoyer au niveau local et national
  • Education et sensibilisation
  • Initiation des ateliers dédiés « droits des filles et des femmes » pour venir en aide.

Pour le RFLD, il est important que la promotion de l’abandon des MGF fasse l’objet d’une action concertée et exercée à différents niveaux de l’échelon local à celui national et par la suite mondial. Et pour cela, les actions doivent être adaptées aux sensibilités culturelles et aux contextes locaux.